A New Twist

I’ve been brainstorming a way to give Seattle Travel Mom a little bit of a unique twist- call it a niche or a specialty- and I think I’ve figured it out.  One of the reasons why I began Seattle Travel Mom was to give parents some ideas of what to do with their kids; reasons to get out and discover their city through the eyes of a child.  I’ve only just scratched the surface, and am having a great time doing so.

But if I really think about it, the question that I want to tackle is the ever-looming “What should we do today?”  At times it’s a light question, full of excitement and expectation (especially on the warm, sunny days).  Check out a new park?  Go to the Zoo?  Find a new farmers market or try a different ice cream shop?  But more often than not, we may find ourselves scratching our heads and wondering, “What are we going to do for the entire morning/afternoon/day?”  

Parks, zoos, farms and all the other kid-loved venues are just a part of it.  There’s only so many places you can hit in one day without the kids, yourself, or a combination of both having a “major meltdown.”

So I’ve come up with a solution set in 3’s.  Somewhere to go, something to craft, something to make/bake…all sharing a theme.  I’ll help parents to not only get out there with their kids, but to also inspire creativity within them.  For now I’ll call these types of posts “All About” Days.  All About Animals Day.  All About Trains Day.  All About Rain Day.  You get the point.

Here’s an example of what I’m thinking:

All About Pumpkins Day

Place:  Pumpkin Patch

(I’ll include review here)

 

Create: Jack-O-Lantern lanterns

(I’ll include instructions here)

Cute lanterns made with jars, orange tissue paper and modge podge.

From Ordinary Life Magic

 

Bake: Pumpkin Spice roll-out sugar cookies

(I’ll include recipe here)

Mini Pumpkin cookies.

From Life’s A Batch

So you’ve go a bit of travel, a bit of Martha Stewart and a cool idea for a snack.  You could do one idea or all three…whatever you have the time and desire for.  And I won’t be doing “All About” posts all the time, but rather in addition to my other Seattle reviews.

So…what do you think?  I’d love to hear your thoughts and comments.

9 thoughts on “A New Twist

    • It’s funny how something you’re so used to seeing (pumpkin cookies @ Halloween, for instance) can be non-existent seomwhere else. (But then you can usually find something totally new and interesting!) Great excuse to get to baking! Thank you for the feedback on the Set of 3’s…I love doing crafts and baking, and days like today (rainy here in Seattle), it’s all I want to do with the kids.

Leave a Reply

