Pulp Fiction Muffins

Ok, I swear I’m not turning this into a food blog, but I do have to post about these muffins I just made.  I used pulp from the juicer to make them (and yes, they taste great).  I’ll call them Pulp Fiction Muffins.

I received a Jack Lalanne Juicer from Santa this Christmas, and today was its inauguration.

fruit

The juice came out fantastic.  But what do you do with a load of carrot/beet/celery/apple/kale/cucumber pulp?  Compost?  Feed to farm animals?  Toss it out?

pulp

I’ve heard that one can use leftover pulp to bake with (or make soups, salsas, etc) but, honestly, anything with the word “pulp” in it just doesn’t sound very appetizing to me.

But I tried it.

And it’s awesome.

I made muffins, adapted from a recipe I found here.

I changed a few things:

The recipe calls for grated zucchinni or carrots.  I used all the veggie pulp from my juicer(carrots, kale, beets, cucumer, celery, apple) and it still tasted great.  I used butter, not oil.  I also used 1/4 cup honey plus 1/2 cup brown sugar.  I omitted nuts/raisins, and added a touch more cinnamon.  I used a large muffin pan, and after greasing the pan with butter and filling to 2/3 full, they came out perfectly.   Bake at 350 for 45-60 minutes (depending on how quickly your oven bakes).

muffins

I can’t wait to have my 3-year-old try these.  Vegetables in the muffins?? Shhhh…..

One thought on “Pulp Fiction Muffins

Leave a Reply

